Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Cake Games

General Poker Discussion Questions/Ideas or anything about poker in general.

Poker Forums - Poker Rakeback Forums > Poker Talk > General Poker Discussion > My Poker Stars Account has been Frozen for Investigation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2009, 12:19 PM
hiho's Avatar
Whale Hunter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 6,095
Forum Cash: 0.
Donate
hiho's Inventory
Default My Poker Stars Account has been Frozen for Investigation

Just got this email from Poker Stars I'll update you all with info as I have it:

Hello,

Greetings from PokerStars.

This email is to inform you, your account has been momentarily frozen due
to security reasons. Wee are just trying to confirm everything is okay
with it.

As part of the investigation, I need to ask you if, by any chance you
belong or have received assistance (received a file or attachment) from a
digital forum where people help each other with technical/computer
problems? If so, please let me know the names or usernames of the persons
you know from this site.

Also for our records we would appreciate if, you let us know if, you know
or have received assistances from: ThirstyCa318 or MainMan Andy.
Before, I let you go, I need to ask you for confirmation of the following
things:

a) Please run the Antivirus in your computer and search for any type of
virus or spyware. We have the suspicious your computer(s) can be infected
by a key logger. That is why need to know your computer is clear from
threats.

b) Please change your email password information and any other password
from any online company that you use, in which you can access valuable
private information, your entire personal information could be compromised.

c) Please send us a clear photocopy of a government issued photo ID (front
and back).

Please scan the requested documentation and send to
security@pokerstars.com or fax to:
PokerStars
Attn: Security Department
Fax: 1-800-631-9050 - Toll free for US & Canada
+506-2295-6860 - All other countries

** Write your username on all the pages if sending by fax.

I will be looking forward to hearing from you soon.


Best Regards,

Roberta C
PokerStars Security
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2009, 02:07 PM
hiho's Avatar
Whale Hunter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 6,095
Forum Cash: 0.
Donate
hiho's Inventory
Default

Well I ran antivirus and it just found one thing, something called ONENOTEM.EXE. Doesn't seem that it is too harmful.

I sent an email to stars, hopefully will find out more.

Also there is someone else that got the same email as well.

More to come.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2009, 02:13 PM
bigloser2448's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bakersfield
Posts: 7,923
Forum Cash: 0.
Donate bigloser2448's Inventory
Default

"Wee are just trying to confirm everything is okay
with it."

"That is why need to know your computer is clear from
threats."

"We have the suspicious your computer(s) can be infected
by a key logger."

Dude! Those don't look like official PokerStars Statements. They're usually pretty well spoken. Are you sure it's legit?
__________________
Check out Bigloser's Blog: The Genesis of a Micro-Grinder...

http://www.feltpoker.com/blogs/bigloser (updated 4/03/11)
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2009, 02:18 PM
hiho's Avatar
Whale Hunter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 6,095
Forum Cash: 0.
Donate
hiho's Inventory
Default

I obviously don't know but my account is frozen from a login standpoint so most likely it is. Also all of the emails and phone numbers listed are real poker stars phone numbers. It wasn't just a random email sent out they had my name which I don't include in emails.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2009, 03:01 PM
bigloser2448's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bakersfield
Posts: 7,923
Forum Cash: 0.
Donate bigloser2448's Inventory
Default

It couldn't be related to that new AutoHotKeys program I saw you posting/talking about could it? I remember thinkking when reading about it that I din't like that the program was written from the ground up instead of using the Trusted AutoHotKey thingy. At least with AutoHotkeys you can see in a clear text file every command that's being executed. With a program like that new one, anything can be written in code and you'd have no idea. Just thinking out loud, don't mind me.

If there is some sort of keylogger software in your system, that would really suck, those things are sick.
__________________
Check out Bigloser's Blog: The Genesis of a Micro-Grinder...

http://www.feltpoker.com/blogs/bigloser (updated 4/03/11)
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2009, 03:16 PM
hiho's Avatar
Whale Hunter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 6,095
Forum Cash: 0.
Donate
hiho's Inventory
Default

Yeah the Ninja program is the only thing that I can think of but he's trying to sell it so I would be surprised.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2009, 03:21 PM
bigloser2448's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bakersfield
Posts: 7,923
Forum Cash: 0.
Donate bigloser2448's Inventory
Default

Color me paranoid, but it is free right now, right? And Ninja's are known for stealth/surprise attacks. Can you get in touch with that other guy at 2+2 that got the e-mail to see if he's used the software?
__________________
Check out Bigloser's Blog: The Genesis of a Micro-Grinder...

http://www.feltpoker.com/blogs/bigloser (updated 4/03/11)
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2009, 03:39 PM
hiho's Avatar
Whale Hunter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 6,095
Forum Cash: 0.
Donate
hiho's Inventory
Default

I already tried asking him that but honestly I think that its real. My poker stars account really is locked out.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2009, 03:43 PM
bigloser2448's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bakersfield
Posts: 7,923
Forum Cash: 0.
Donate bigloser2448's Inventory
Default

I'd call them dude. This doesn't sound legit to me at all.

WHat about all the tourney's you're missing out on, too?
__________________
Check out Bigloser's Blog: The Genesis of a Micro-Grinder...

http://www.feltpoker.com/blogs/bigloser (updated 4/03/11)
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2009, 03:46 PM
hiho's Avatar
Whale Hunter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 6,095
Forum Cash: 0.
Donate
hiho's Inventory
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigloser2448 View Post
I'd call them dude. This doesn't sound legit to me at all.

WHat about all the tourney's you're missing out on, too?
My move to the ten's isn't doing great. They're saving me money. I sent an email directly to pokerstars from another PC, just waiting for their input. I still have a few hours before poker time anyway.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Johnny has a superuser account on Stars!!! Eruu General Poker Discussion 42 08-02-2008 04:41 AM
Does anyone have an Electric Orange account? MewsicLovr Off-Topic Area 9 03-24-2008 11:54 AM
POker Stars No SNG jcarter General Poker Discussion 9 02-17-2008 06:29 AM
AP investigation update- Randy General Poker Discussion 2 01-28-2008 01:21 AM

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0
Template-Modifications by TMS